Cemetery Taxing Districts

County Clerk

Contact Us

Hours: Mon - Fri, 8am - 5pm

Cemetery Taxing Districts

There are eight cemetery districts (which cover 11 cemeteries) in Douglas County. These districts levy taxes that pay for the upkeep and maintenance of the cemeteries.

See the Taxing Districts

The cemetery districts are independent from the Board of County Commissioners. Each cemetery district has a board of trustees which governs the cemetery. There are many more cemeteries in Douglas County that are not supported by property tax levies, but are under the jurisdiction of cities, churches or private owners. See the links below to maps of all cemeteries in Douglas County.

Interactive Cemetery Map

Douglas County has launched a new interactive cemetery map. The map was created by Senior GIS Analyst Amy Roust. She worked with former Douglas County Heritage Coordinator Jan Shupert-Arick and John Nichols, of the County Clerk’s Office, who gathered records related to each cemetery. Work began on the project about three years ago.

Visit Interactive Map

Cemetery Districts / Contacts

Clinton Cemetery

Located in the Clinton community

E 500 Rd, Lawrence, KS 66047

Keith Jones


Lanaea Heine



Colyer Cemetery

551 N 750th Rd, Lawrence, KS 66047

Rob Harris


East View/Big Springs Cemetery

1949 E 100 Rd, Lecompton, KS 66050

Elaine Boose



Maple Grove Cemetery

E 452 Rd, Lecompton, KS 66050

Sherri Neill



Rock Creek Cemetery

755 E 250 Rd, Overbrook, KS

John & Linda Lang


Stull Cemetery

250 N 1600 Rd, Lecompton, KS 66050

Phil Vannicola



Twin Mound Cemetery

862-892 E 100 Rd, Overbrook, KS 66524

Jon Gaines



United Cemetery Association (UCA) 

This district is also in Franklin County, and covers four cemeteries in Douglas County. Appanoose, Dodder/Highland, Old Bethel, Union/Sower

Julie Radcliffe


Find an Error? If you find an error on this page, please contact Jamie Shew at 785-832-5167 or jshew@dgcoks.gov