County Commission

The Board of County Commissioners is a three-member group of elected officials who proudly represent the citizens of Douglas County, Kansas.  Commissioners serve a four-year term of office.

Karen Willey

Karen Willey - 3rd District (Chair)

Karen moved to Lawrence in 1993 to be the third generation of her family to attend the University of Kansas where she earned a BA in Environmental Studies and a PhD in Geography. 

Read More
Shannon Reid

Shannon Reid - 2nd District (Vice Chair)

Shannon is a lifelong Lawrence townie, proud to have been raised here by a community who cared and offered support throughout her youth, which was steeped in experiences...

Read More
Patrick Kelly

Patrick Kelly - 1st District

Patrick has called Lawrence home since attending the University of Kansas beginning in 1989. He earned a Bachelor's degree in Music Education and a Master’s...

Read More

Commission Meetings

Douglas County Commissioners typically meet at 5:30 p.m. Wednesdays in the Public Works/Zoning and Codes Building, 3755 E. 25th St, in the training room. Meetings are also available on Zoom.

County Commissioners have work sessions to study and discuss various topics throughout the year. No action is taken during work sessions. If there's a work session, they are held at 4 p.m. on Wednesdays before the business meeting.

County Commission District Maps

Upcoming Commission Maps (effective 1/1/2025)

Douglas County Courthouse

1100 Massachusetts Street
Lawrence, KS 66044
United States

County Courthouse