Local Emergency Planning Committee

Emergency Management

Emergency Management

Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)

The LEPC is responsible for developing an emergency plan to prepare for and respond to chemical emergencies within the community.

In 1986, Congress passed the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA) which established a national baseline with regard to planning, response, management and training for hazardous materials emergencies. SARA mandated the establishment of both state and local planning groups to develop and review hazardous materials response plans. The state planning groups are referred to as the State Emergency Response Commissions (SERC) and are responsible for developing and maintaining the state's emergency response plan. The Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) is responsible for developing an emergency plan to prepare for and respond to chemical emergencies within the community. It is the main function of the LEPC to look after community interests in regard to hazardous incidents that may occur there. The LEPC is the coordinating point for both planning and training activities at the local level. The LEPC also receives emergency release and chemical inventory information submitted by local industrial facilities and makes this information available to the community it serves. In addition to its formal responsibilities, the LEPC often serves as a focal point for information and discussions about hazardous substances. The LEPC's ability to improve and maintain the safety and health of its community is greatly enhanced by the support of an informed citizenry.

LEPC members are community agency and business leaders who represent all areas that may be involved in reponse to an emerency incident. These areas are classified as Emergency Support Functions (ESFs); the LEPC membership list below is organized in this manner. 

The Douglas County Emergency Management Agency is the local Community Right-to-Know resource for hazardous material information. Anyone desiring information concerning LEPC meetings, SARA Title lll hazardous materials planning which is included in the Douglas County Emergency Operations Plan, materials safety data sheets (MSDS), and hazardous chemical inventory forms listing extremely hazardous substances manufactured, stored, or used within Douglas County can be obtained during normal business hours by contacting Douglas County Emergency Management at 785-832-5259.

All LEPC meetings are on the first Wednesday of the month, at 8:30 a.m. The Executive Committee meets in the EOC at the Law Enforcement Center. The location of the quarterly Board meeting varies. Agenda packets are emailed one week prior to the scheduled meeting and contain information regarding location. View meeting information by clicking the "View Upcoming and Past Meetings" button above.

Douglas County Emergency Management LEPC Board Membership

Governing Bodies

(appointed by governing bodies)

Greg GardnerAppointee of Douglas County Commission
Mindy Andrasevits Appointee of Eudora City Council
Chris JohnstonAppointee of Lecompton City Council
Kathy PorschAppointee of Lawrence City Commission
Mike PattrickAppointee of Baldwin City Council

Officers & Executive Committee Members

(elected annually by the Full Board)

Tony FosterChair
Brad AugustVice Chair
Mike PattrickMember
Veronica WhiteMember
Mindy AdrasevitsMember

Emergency Support Functions


Transportation ESF #1

Lane SekavecUnion Pacific Railroad 
Adam WeigelLawrence Transit 

Emergency Communications ESF #2

Tony FosterEmergency Communications Center 
Kevin OneslagerARRL Emergency Coordinator 

Public Works & Engineering ESF #3

Chad VoigtDouglas County Public Works 
Scott FewinsCity of Lawrence MSO 
Benjamin HarrisDouglas County Zoning and Codes  

Fire, ESF #4

Mike BaxterFire Chiefs Association, Douglas County Consolidated Fire Distrist #1 

Emergency Management ESF #5

John Stipetich University of Kansas Public Safety 

Mass Care, Housing, and Human Services ESF #6

Kyle LewisAmerican Red Cross 
Gabi SpragueDouglas County Human Services 

Resource Management ESF #7

Meg Pearson United Way of Kaw Valley 

Public Health and Medical Services ESF #8

Teri AxmanLMH Health 
Veronica WhiteLawrence-Douglas County Public Health 
Elizabeth KeeverHeartland Community Health Center 
Pat DeaverVisiting Nurses 
Hubert WhiteIndian Health Service 

Search & Rescue, ESF #9

Joe HardyLawrence-Douglas County Fire Medical 

HazMat, ESF #10

Joe HardyLawrence-Douglas County Fire Medical 

Agriculture/Natural Resources ESF #11

Shannon WellsLawrence Humane Society 
Marlin BatesK-State Research and Extension - Douglas County 

Energy and Utilities ESF #12

Ethan UnfredBlack Hills Energy 
Chris LamarBlack Hills Energy 
Vince AvilaEvergy 

Law Enforcement, ESF #13

Chris JohnstonDouglas County Sheriff's Office 
Mike PattrickBaldwin Police Department 
David ErnstLawrence Police Department 
James DruenUniversity of Kansas Police Department 

Public Information ESF #15

Karrey BrittDouglas County 
Lynn MeadorCity of Baldwin City 

Chemical Preparedness

Bradley AugustTrecora 
Kay JohnsonPROSOCO 

Community Group/Social Service

Steve DevoreKansas Suicide Prevention HQ 
Kim MurphreeLDS Church 
Matthew FaulkBert Nash CMHC 
Kim Criner RitchieDouglas County Sustainability 


Jaylie PostlewaitEudora Public Schools 
Derek BlandBaldwin Public Schools 
Ron MayLawrence Public Schools 
Mike RussellUniversity of Kansas 
Josh WoodwardPerry-Lecompton Public Schools 
Matt MatheisKU Emergency Management 

Facility / Industry

Chad ChristieICL